How many countries in Oceania?

There are 14 independent countries in Oceania, and the remaining 10 regions are still under the jurisdiction of the U.S., U.K. and France. The level of economic development varies significantly from country to country, with Australia and New Zealand having developed economies, and the other island countries being mostly agricultural countries with relatively backward economies.

Industry is also mainly concentrated in Australia, followed by New Zealand. Geographically, it is divided into six regions: Australia, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia.

The countries in Oceania that have become independent, except Australia and New Zealand, are all developing countries and are faced with the historical task of developing their national economies. With the common goal, they organized the South Pacific Forum, established the South Pacific Economic Cooperation Agency and the South Pacific Fisheries Agency to implement regional cooperation, and in order to preserve the country's natural resources, they have declared a 200-nautical-mile exclusive economic zone, and at the same time, initiated the establishment of the South Pacific Islands Foundation, the establishment of the South Pacific Common Market, and the South Pacific Nuclear Free Zone Campaign.

As of 1982, among the nine post-war independent island states, Papua New Guinea (October 12, 1976), Fiji (November 5, 1975), Western Samoa (November 6, 1975), Kiribati (diplomatic relations established on June 25, 1980 and severed on November 29, 2003), and Vanuatu (March 26, 1982) have formally established diplomatic relations with China. diplomatic relations with China.

Send Your Message